NT Heritage Council

The Northern Territory Heritage Council operates under the Heritage Act. Read the Act. 

What the council does

The functions of the Heritage Council are set out in the Heritage Act. 

It meets at least four times a year.

The Act requires that the Council produce an annual report every year. Go to publications to read the reports.


The Heritage Council has 11 members. Six are appointed by the Minister at their discretion. 

The other five are made up of:

  • the CEO, or a nominee of the CEO, of the Department of Lands, Planning and the Environment
  • a nominee from the National Trust
  • a nominee from the Aboriginal Areas Protection Authority (AAPA)
  • a nominee from an organisation representing the interests of local government
  • a nominee from an organisation representing the interests of land owners. 

At least two of the council's members must be of Aboriginal descent. 

Current members

  • Wayne Kraft, chair
  • Francis Ahmat
  • Roger Harris
  • Roger Steele
  • Daniel Measures
  • Alexander Nelson
  • Emeritus Professor MaryAnn Bin-Sallik, CEO nominee
  • Elizabeth Close, National Trust of Australia Northern Territory
  • Allison Bitar, Aboriginal Areas Protection Authority
  • Steven Hennessy, local government
  • Allan Garraway, land owners

Last updated: 11 October 2017